In this post, I’ll walk you through various aspects of the HAWAII CAR SEAT LAWS to help you in the best possible way that I can.
Moreover, I would also be throwing light on the updates related to rear & forward-facing car seat laws to help you clear most of your doubts.
So, without any further ado, let’s begin…
As we all know, Hawaii is a well-known tourist destination, so irrespective of whether you’re visiting the island for the first time or are a resident of it, make sure you abide by the Hawaii car seat laws to prevent the penalties associated with it breaking the law.
Does it make sense?
The Hawaii car seat laws clearly depict the type of car seat your kid must be in while traveling on a motor vehicle.
Also, the age, height, and weight limitations are clearly mentioned.
In this guide, we will cover Hawaii’s forward-facing car seat laws, rear-facing laws, front seat car seat laws, and other important information.
As per the Hawaii car seat laws, children who are below 4 years of age MUST use a child safety seat.
A booster car seat is a must for children who fall in the age group of 4 to 7 years.
Rear-Facing Hawaii Car Seat Law
For children under 4 years of age, the weight limit doesn’t apply.
All the children of this age group MUST have to use a child safety car seat.
Failing to do so may lead to a penalty.
Moreover, children under two years of age should have rear-facing car seats till the time they have outgrown either the weight or height limit or both fixed by the manufacturer.
As a responsible parent, you need to ensure that your child’s seat is in the backseat of the vehicle.
Needless to say, this is the safest location as well as the safest seat type.
At the same time, you should never even think of placing a rear-facing car seat in the front seat of your vehicle as it will do more damage than good during a car crash.
In case of any doubts or queries feel free to reach out to us, and we would be more than happy to assist you.
In layman’s terms, you should never put a rear-facing car seat in the front seat of a vehicle with active front-passenger bags.
Make sure that the harness and seat are secured.
Once your kid has crossed the weight, height, and age limit of a rear-facing car seat then there are further laws that one needs to abide by.[Also Read]
Forward-Facing Hawaii Car Seat Law
A child who is above 12 months and weighs above 20 pounds can use a forward-facing Hawaii car seat.
Moreover, you need to secure the seat in your car’s backseat in order to provide optimum safety to your child.
Your kid must use a forward-facing Hawaii car seat till the time he or she has bypassed both the weight and height limits.
Hawaii Booster Seat Law
Once your child has crossed the weight and height limits of a forward-facing safety car seat, he or she should start using a booster seat.
As per the Hawaii car seat laws, children who are in the age group of 4 to 7 years, weigh less than 40 pounds, and are under 4 feet & 9 inches must use a booster car seat.
Make sure it is a lap-shoulder belt-positioning booster.
Booster Readiness Check
Make sure your child abides by the below important points in order to reap maximum benefits out of a booster car seat.
- The lap belt is snug and low on the hips
- The shoulder belt does not cross the face or neck
- The child’s back is flush against the seat
- Their knees bend over the edge of the vehicle seat
- They are not slouching
Any child safety car seat should be used till the time a child doesn’t exceed its weight and height limits.
We at izzysmarthomeguide.com don’t approve of moving to a booster seat too early as it may do more bad than good.
It’s always good to keep your child in a forward-facing safety car seat till the time S/he hasn’t crossed the weight and height limits.
Once your child is 8 years or older, the standard Hawaii vehicle laws apply.
Lap-Shoulder Seat Belt Law
Frankly speaking, Hawaii requires that all front and back-seat passengers buckle up.
Moreover, adults and children should always use seat belts and child restraints at all times.
When Can My Child Ride In the Front Seat?
To be honest, the state of Hawaii wants every child under 8 years of age to ride in the back seat of the vehicle as it is safer as compared to the front seat.
Though once your child has reached the 8-year mark, he or she can still sit in the front seat we recommend him to sit in the back seat till the time he hasn’t reached the 13-year age mark.
Hawaii Car Seat Law Taxi/Uber
In the state of Hawaii, both Taxis and Uber are exempted from the child car seat safety laws.
However, if your child is riding in the back seat of an Uber or a Taxi in Hawaii, then S/he must buckle up.
If your child isn’t safely secured then you may receive a citation.
If needed, you can get help from some car company that provides a booster seat in return for a small fee.
In the end, Hawaii’s passenger seat belt law, which requires back seat passengers to buckle up, and the State’s child safety seat law, which exempts taxis, seem to conflict.
Commercial Vehicle Law
Commercial vehicles are exempted from Hawaii car seat laws.
Medical Emergency Law in Hawaii
The restraint laws will not apply only if you’re experiencing a life-threatening emergency.
If you’re NOT abiding by the Hawaii car seat laws then you may receive a fine of anywhere between 100 to 500 dollars.
Not only that but also you may be subjected to four-half car seat safety courses which solely depend on the number of your previous offenses.
Hawaii’s Car Seat Safety Incentive
To promote car seat safety and encourage participation the state of Hawaii offers a State tax credit.
An annual $25 applies to the purchase of a child safety seat or booster seat.
Hawaii’s Child Passenger Safety Week
The State of Hawaii also puts on an annual Child Passenger Safety Week to educate the public about traveling safely with children in a vehicle.
The Highway Department of Transportation, county police departments, and CPS make Safety Week possible.
It’s an important event that we suggest every parent MUST ATTAIN.
During a week-long event, you would be informed about when you should use a child safety seat or even a booster seat.
The technician would also be helping you with the instructions on how to properly use and install a car safety seat.
Furthermore, the week concludes with various communities hosting free car seat installation and safety checks.
In short, if you’re someone who has no idea about a child safety seat then definitely, it’s a great place to update yourself.
Other Hawaii Vehicle Laws Concerning Children
Even though you’re well-versed with the Hawaii car seat laws still you need to have a quick look at a few other laws that are related to a child traveling in a motor vehicle.
- A child shouldn’t be left in a car for more than 5 minutes in the absence of legitimate supervision
- Smoking is a CRIME in a vehicle that has a child passenger
- No law in the State of Hawaii makes it mandatory to replace your child’s safety seat after an accident
Imp Note: We at izzysmarthomeguide.com always recommend replacing a child safety car seat post an accident irrespective of how severe it is.
Sometimes, the child’s safety car seat may seem to be perfectly fine visually but it may not be 100 percent in good condition.
In layman’s terms, if you’re NOT replacing your child’s safety car seat post an accident then definitely, you’re putting him at high risk.
Minor cracks on the safety car seats post an accident may not be visible with the naked eye.
So, the best thing that you can do is to replace the old safety car seat with the new variant.
In this section, I will be responding to the queries related to Hawaii car seat laws in order to help you clear your doubts in the best possible way that I can.
Does a 7-year-old need a booster seat in Hawaii?
Hawaii’s Child Passenger Restraint Law requires any child under the age of 4 to ride in a child safety seat.
Moreover, if your child is above 4 years and less than 7 years then he or she must ride in a child passenger restraint or booster seat.
And, in case, your child doesn’t abide by the Hawaii car seat laws then he or she has to appear in court.
Is a car seat required in Hawaii?
Hawaii law requires children under the age of four to ride in a child safety seat.
Once the height and weight limit of a child safety seat is surpassed or your child’s age exceeds 4 years then he or she can use a booster car seat.
When can a child stop using a booster seat in Hawaii?
As per the Hawaii car seat laws, any child who is taller than 4 feet 9 inches and has reached the age of 8 years can stop using a booster seat in Hawaii.
When can a child ride in the front seat in Hawaii?
Theoretically, your child can sit in the front seat once he is older than 8 years.
However, we at izzysmarthomeguide.com recommend a child stay in the back seat till the time he has reached the 13-year mark.
Is there a seat belt law in Hawaii?
Yes, there is a seat belt law in Hawaii that states that all the front and back seat motor vehicle occupants buckle up.
Moreover, adults and children must use their seat belts and child restraints at all times.
It’s A Wrap
First and foremost, I would like to thank you for being with us till the end.
Secondly, I would like to bring to your notice that I along with my core team have put loads and loads of effort in coming up with this idiosyncratic superlative piece of information on the topic HAWAII CAR SEAT LAW.
And, in case, you liked our effort and want to appreciate us then please do share this post with like-minded people and the ones who are in search of it.
After all, sharing is caring, isn’t it?
we’ve tried to the best of our capabilities to bundle all the necessary information related to HAWAII CAR SEAT in one place in order to help you in the best possible manner that we could.
That’s all, as of now :):)