Arizona Car Seat Laws

Beginner Info, Car Seat

arizona car seat laws
As an Amazon Associate, I may earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. All the products recommendation links on will navigate to Amazon

Irrespective of whether you’re a newbie or a seasoned professional, the information shared in this post will definitely be of great help to you as a parent.

We at have tried to the best of our capabilities to bundle all the pieces of information related to Arizona car seat laws in one place in order to help our readers in the best possible manner we could.

In this post, we will be discussing the nuts and bolts of Arizona car seat laws so most probably almost all your questions would be answered related to the laws.

So, without any further ado, let’s begin…

Arizona Car Seat Laws

Well, the Arizona car seat law is popularly known as the Arizona booster law and was enacted in the year 2012.

As per the recent change in the Arizona car seat law, the permitted age has been increased from 5 years to 8 years when it comes to riding using solely a seat belt.

The thing that I really liked about the Arizona car seat laws is the booster seat provision that has been recently added.

In fact, the booster seat provision negates the loopholes and thus helps protect the children till the time they are big enough for the safety belts.

What Does Arizona Car Seat Laws Say:

Any child who is under 12 months of age MUST be using a rear-facing car seat.

Once your child is a year old and has crossed the weight and height limits of a rear-facing car seat then S/he must be transferred to a front-facing car seat.

Similarly, once the weight and height limit of a front-facing car seat is reached, the child is transferred to a booster car seat.

Your child needs to be in a booster car seat till the time S/he is less than 4 feet 9 inches tall or weighs less than 80 pounds.

Once your child exceeds the height and weight limit of a booster car seat, he or she can seat only using a seat belt.

The same rules and regulations hold in the case of a taxi.

Arizona car seat law doesn’t specify any particular age for riding in the front car seat.

However, most of the manufacturers have recommended 13 years as the minimum age limit.

Arizona Rear-Facing Car Seat Law

In Arizona, any child under 12 months of age must travel in the rear-facing car seat.

The car seat must be designed in such a way that it supports the entire body of the child including the head, neck, and shoulder regions.

Needless to say, restraints are right in the place that moves along with the child.

The maximum weight for a rear-facing car seat is 20 pounds.

Arizona Forward-Facing Car Seat Law

Any child who is above 12 months and isn’t able to walk properly must be kept in a forward-facing car seat when riding in a car.

In general, the weight and height limits are set by the manufacturer so different car seats have different limits so while buying a forward car seat make sure you’re in sync with these limits in order to prevent any last-minute misadventure.

Important Note for Forward-Facing Car Seats

First-time buyers may not be aware of the fact that both the rear-facing & forward-facing car seats are designed to face the child in only one direction.

So, as a parent, it’s your responsibility to verify which position the car seat you’re purchasing is meant for to prevent any last-minute misadventure.

On top of that, make sure your child is meeting the safety requirements for rear-facing and forward-facing car seats.

Arizona Booster Laws

For using a booster seat for your child, the below-mentioned criteria need to be fulfilled.

  • Younger than 8 years old, or
  • Shorter than 4 feet, 9 inches (57 inches) tall

Definitely, a child has to ride in a child safety seat if she or he is younger than 5 years.

As a responsible parent, it is your sole responsibility to ensure your child’s seat is securely fastened with seat belts and has harnesses that hold the child in the hard-plastic, cushioned shell portion of the car seat.

The positioning of Booster Seat 

In order to reap maximum benefits from a booster seat, make sure it is properly positioned.

To properly place a child in a booster seat:

  • Make sure your children sit with their back against the vehicle seat and the knees bent over the edge of the seat
  • Moreover, the lap belt needs to be tight across the bony areas, and NOT THE SOFT ABDOMEN of the lower hips and the upper thighs
  • Make sure the shoulder belt is securely tightened against the collarbone and the chest

Booster Seat Requirements

Any child who has crossed the 4-year mark must sit in a booster seat till the time he or she has attained the height of 4 feet 9 inches or weighs more than 80 pounds.

What makes a booster seat so important is its ability to help your child sit in the proper restraining position for their body by ensuring that the seatbelt lies in the proper location.

In general, the age range for a booster seat is between five and eight years.

Well, your booster seat may have a back or only a base depending upon whether your car seat has head restraints or NOT.

At the same time, you also need to check whether the lap and shoulder belts are resting in their proper location with a child sitting in the booster seat, and also, make sure that the seat is properly adjusted in order to deal effectively with any unprecedented situation.

However, once your child has reached the height of 4 feet and 9 inches and weighs over 80 pounds then he or she can sit in a car with a regular seat and lap belt.

If your child isn’t wearing a belt while your car is in motion then you’ll receive a fine for violation of the Arizona car seat laws.

Fines for Violations

In case of violation of the Arizona child car safety seat regulations, you may be fined $50.

However, there is a provision for the waiver of the fine.

In fact, the fine can be completely waived if the car owner or the driver can verify post the ticket has been given that he has obtained a child safety or a booster seat.

All you need to do is simply mail the receipt to the court to show compliance has waived the fine.

Replacing a Car Seat After an Accident

Frankly speaking, as far as I know, Arizona doesn’t have specific laws on replacing a car seat after an accident, maybe in the future, they may have one.

However, we at strongly recommend replacing a car seat after an accident even though everything seems perfect to you.

Failing to do so will put your kid at high risk in case of a car crash.

On average, a car seat has an average lifespan of 6 years so you must replace it after six years of purchase even though it hasn’t been a part of a car accident.

Correct Positioning of a Car Seat is a Must

Yes, you heard it, right?

In order to reap maximum benefits from a car seat during an accident, it needs to be correctly positioned.

Failing to do so may impact a car seat’s performance drastically.

Needless to say, a child MUST be properly fastened and secured in a safe car seat.

The points are of utter importance.

  • Make sure your child’s head is no closer than 1 inch from the crest of the seat’s plastic shell
  • At the same time, you need to ensure the straps are snug and lying flat there or above their shoulders
  • The clip in the middle of their chest and level with their armpits where the harness is fastened

Arizona Car Seat Laws For Taxi /Uber

Well, if you’re planning to hire a taxi in Arizona then you must plan to bring along your car safety seat or booster seat.

In fact, taxis aren’t exempted from Arizona car seat laws.

What actually does this mean?

This simply means your child must follow the same guidelines and laws for car seats in a taxi as they do when traveling in their own car.


In this section, I will be responding to the queries related to Arizona car seat laws in order to help you clear most of your doubts if NOT ALL related to Arizona car seat laws.

Does it make sense?

What is the law for booster seats in Arizona?

As per the car seat laws in Arizona, any child who has crossed the weight and height limit of a forward-facing car seat needs to use a booster seat till the time he or she reaches a height of 4 feet 9 inches or is 8 years and above.

In case, the child is less than 8 years old but has crossed the height limit of 4 feet 9 inches then he can use a regular vehicle seat and a normal vehicle seat belt.

What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Arizona?

Arizona wants the children to be in a booster seat till the time they have reached a height of 4 feet 9 inches or are older than 8 years.

However, as a responsible parent, you need to follow the height and weight limits mentioned by the manufacturer.

Well, if I’m not wrong then most of the manufacturers now require a minimum of 4 years old, 40″ tall, and 40 pounds.

Can a 9-year-old sit in the front seat in Arizona?

Frankly speaking, the Arizona car seat law doesn’t explicitly state the age limit for riding in the front car seat.

However, we recommend children ride in the back seat till the time they have reached the age of 13 years.

Can a 4-year-old sit in a booster seat in Arizona?

Yes, a 4-year-old can sit in a booster seat in Arizona if he or she is less than 4 feet 9 inches tall and younger than 8 years old.

It’s A Wrap

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for being with us till the end.

Secondly, I would like to bring to your notice that I along with my core team have put loads and loads of effort into coming up with this idiosyncratic superlative piece of information on the topic of ARIZONA CAR SEAT LAWS.

And, in case, you liked our effort and want to appreciate us then please do share this post with like-minded people and the ones who are searching for it.

After all, sharing is caring, isn’t it?

Arizona car seat laws and regulations are determined by the age, weight, and height of the child.

It goes without saying that different types of car seats are required based on these factors.

Furthermore, Arizona doesn’t specify when a child is able to legally sit in the front seat.

Nonetheless, they must be properly restrained.

Last but not least, we recommend following the vehicle manufacturer’s warnings in your vehicle that state children under the age of 13 years old shouldn’t be sitting in the front seat.

That’s all, as of now :):)

[Also Read]