Oregon Car Seat Laws

Beginner Info, Car Seat

oregon car seat laws
As an Amazon Associate, I may earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. All the products recommendation links on izzysmarthomeguide.com will navigate to Amazon

In this post, I’ll be walking you through the nuts & bolts of Oregan Car Seat Laws in order to help you in the best possible ways that I can.

Moreover, I’ll also be responding to the queries related to Oregon car seat laws in order to help you clear your doubts.

So, without any further ado, let’s begin…

Many of our readers wouldn’t be aware that Oregon car seat laws have gone through some recent changes.

For example, any child from Oregon aged less than sixteen years needs to be correctly secured with a child safety seat, safety belt, or a child safety harness.

Moreover, those items must align with the requirements set out by the Department of Transportation whenever your child rides as a passenger in a vehicle, especially while on the freeway.

Well, if your child is older than sixteen years, then either a safety harness or a seat belt is a MUST.

To be honest, in our post, we’ve covered new additions that have been made to Oregon car seat laws recently including laws covering babies and children up to two years of age, the current requirements for children in the age group of 3 to 7 years, booster seat laws, child safety harness laws for children between seven and fifteen, and most importantly, safety belt laws for children older than sixteen.

If you’ve not heard about the Oregon car seat laws in the past then let me tell you, these age requirements can vary depending upon the height and weight of your child.

Infants and Toddlers Up to Two Years Old

In 2017, a new law started that changed the requirements in Oregon covering car seat laws for all infants under the age of two years.

The new Oregon law states that a child who is less than two years old must be in a rear-facing safety car seat.

In fact, the law applies to all children of the age group of 0-2 years irrespective of their height and weight.

Previously, the Oregon car seat law stated that once a baby has crossed the weight and height limits of a rear-facing car seat set by the manufacturer can be upgraded to a forward-facing car seat.

However, for the safety and security of children under the age of 2 years, the law was modified.

And, as per the new Oregon car seat laws, any kid under 2 years of age must ride in a rear-facing car seat.

Other Additions to the Original Law

Oregon’s new car seat law requires that children, regardless of their age or even height, must ride as a passenger in the rear-facing, DOT-approved car seats in case, they weigh less than 20 pounds.

For a child to ride in a front-facing car seat, he or she must weigh more than 20 pounds and should be more than 2 years of age.

However, if your child has crossed the 2-year age mark and still weighs less than 20 pounds, then he or she doesn’t have an option but to ride rear-facing.

Children Between Twenty and Forty Pounds

A child must ride in a DOT-approved car seat that faces the front of the car only if he or she weighs more than 20 pounds and less than 40 pounds and is two years older.

Under the new Oregon state laws, any child irrespective of his or her age must be in the right type of car seat till the time he or she reaches forty pounds.

A toddler can only ride in a front-facing car seat if he or she is older than 2 years and weighs more than 20 pounds.

However, the upper limit for weight is 40 pounds.

[Also Read]

Follow the Manufacturer’s Directions

Needless to say, on top of all this, all the car seats used for children that fall into this category must be used by following the manufacturer’s directions exactly.

It simply means that you must ensure that you’ve set up the car seat properly.

At the same time, as a responsible parent, you must ensure that everything falls right in place and also everything is securely fastened.

In case, you’re not sure about installing a baby car seat then the best thing that you can do is to take your car seat to a local police or a fire station, and they will instruct you.

Don’t worry, the session will be free of cost.

The specific person will guide you through the installation process and most importantly, by the time, you leave, you’ll be aware of the installation instructions.

If you want they will install the child car seat for you in order to help you in the best possible way that they could, interesting, isn’t it?

Actually, all you need to do is follow the instructions and directions provided by the manufacturer of the car seat and expedite the installation process accordingly.

Furthermore, you must also correctly use the straps on your child.

In fact, anyone who is not sure about the directions can seek help from the local police station or even the fire department.

Children Between Three and Eight who Weigh Forty Pounds or Less

A child safety system is a must for any child in Oregon whose age falls in the range of 3 and 7 years and the weight doesn’t exceed forty pounds.

Moreover, depending upon the weight and age of your child, you may be either using a rear-facing or front-facing car seat.

It goes without saying that children whose weight is less than forty pounds must ride in an approved car seat for their respective age.

If your child is between the ages of three and seven, over the weight of forty pounds, and up to 4’9” tall, then you must use a child safety system that is designed for a child that is that height or shorter.

Moreover, if your child meets all the three aforementioned criteria then he or she can use a front-facing car seat, a booster seat, or even a safety seat with a harness.

In case, you’re planning to use a premium-quality booster seat, then you need to make sure that the booster seat is aligned with the Oregon car seat laws.

Any child of 8 years of age, weighs more than forty pounds, and is approximately 4 feet 9 inches tall can use a booster seat.

Additional Requirements for Booster Seats

Well, the booster seat must either have a high back or should allow your child to sit comfortably when he or she is riding a vehicle for a longer duration.

A child can start using a regular seat once he or she weighs more than forty pounds and is taller than 4 feet 9 inches, and most importantly, has crossed the eight years of age mark.

Even though your child is ready for a regular seat belt we advise you to keep him or her riding in the backseat as it’s safer as compared to the front passenger seat.

In simple words, in order to get rid of a car seat or a booster seat, your child must pass the three requirements, that is, age, height, and weight limits.

Even though your child is riding in a booster seat, you as a responsible parent need to ensure that everything is falling well in place.

In layman’s terms, follow the manufacturer’s instructions carefully.

Most children who die in Oregon car crashes were not restrained at all or restrained improperly in their booster seats or car seats.

So, make sure you don’t make the same mistake.

If you aren’t sure about how to install your child’s booster seat or use that booster seat correctly, you can make a trip to your local fire department or police department for assistance.

Children Eight to Fifteen and Over 4’9” Tall

Children that fall between the ages of fifteen and eight, and that are taller than 4’9”, need to be correctly secured using a safety belt or a safety harness.

The Law For Children Sixteen to Seventeen Years Old

Children who are aged sixteen or seventeen years old must also use a safety belt or safety harness. 

Fines for Violating the Law

If you violate the child car seat law in Oregon, you’ll receive a fine for a Class D traffic infraction that totals $115.00

It’s A Wrap

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for being with us till the end.

Secondly, I would like to bring to your notice that I along with my core team have put loads and loads of effort into coming up with this idiosyncratic superlative piece of information.

And, in case, you liked our effort and want to appreciate us then please do share this post with like-minded people and the ones who are searching for it.

After all, sharing is caring, isn’t it?

To make a story short, we’ve tried to the best of our capabilities to cover almost all the essential pieces of information in the best possible way we could.

I hope after going through this post, you will be well aware of what needs to be done while driving in Oregon to prevent any penalty.

That’s all, as of now :):)